The One With The End Of Year 2008

Not quite. 2 more days left. I wonder what would year 2009 be? Well, this is the time where most bloggers who actually takes the effort to update their blogs to rant about their year and count their blessings. Same goes to this blogger here.

Year 2008 started out to be an indifferent start to year 2007. Dull, boring and hoping that the year would end soon. Little did I know, the changes started then. But to make this post seem more entertaining and less hurtful to the eye, lets break it down to months shall we?

January of ’08:
Entered UCSI University (then known as University College Sedaya International). Education seemed distant from me, as a result of taking a break from my studies to work. Didn’t like business courses, so I took a guided leap of faith (yes, guided by Him) to change to mass comm. Things seemed to improve.

Was given the shock of my life when the CF fellas told me that I’ll be playing guitar for their Easter Rally. Prakash and Terry’s big ‘gift’ for me for entering UCSI. Great ‘gift’ indeed cuz I met her.

That was January.

February of ’08:
Still adjusting to the life of a mass comm student. Went for Switchfoot concert and as he put it, it was a blast. Shame on those who did not attend it. Also went for Backstreet Boys concert. What happened in the concert STAYS in the concert. Practices for worship team for the Easter Rally was moved from the ‘sauna’ room to FGA KL. Much much better.

That was February.

March of ‘o8:
Hectic schedule kicked in. Readjusting life from the working world to being studying is quite a hassle. Juggling between studies and… studies. Somehow it seems so hard to balance it off. Had a great time playing for the Easter Rally. Went for Sunburst Festival, and Incubus was awesome!

Unofficially started something beautiful early of the month.

That was March.

April of ’08:
Exams. Last minute studying. More exams. Datelines. After the semester finals, got a two week break. Hung out with a few friends on a so-called ‘Food Indulgence Rendezvous’. Got the shock of my life when her parents started calling her to go home when we were on our way to Look Out Point. But it made me realized how much I was into her. And she knows it as well.

That was April.

May of ’08:
Second semester starts. Pretty happy with last semester’s results. Got 2 same classes with her. Everything seems so… dull then. Life was boring, and I was constantly looking for more stuff to do around uni. The Hive started, was roped in to help. Was bothered by church conspiracies. Was kinda resolved but not resolved at the same time.

That was May.

June of ’08:
Went for a stage play with her and her classmates, for their class assignment. Something great happened. So psyched I took the wrong turn home (yes if you are reading this now darling I went to Sungai Buloh instead of going back to my house on that night.). Played for Influence Conference, but was still bothered by the conspiracies in church. Kinda left church for awhile then. No regrets as it taught me something in the end.

That was June.

July of ’08:
Played for KLBC’s musical production in uni. Saw her parents upclose for the first time. Wasn’t a good experience. Studies are starting to tear me inside out then. Seemed impossible to finish off the semester, but persevered I did. For a moment, it seemed my life was to do video clips with the iMovie.

Went for Daughtry concert with her, again. Kinda miss the spot where you were sitting on the barricade plastic thingy and I was covering your head from the rain with the concert flyer. Glo officially ‘died’. It was a good run. It lived good.

That was July.

August of ‘o8:
Exams. More last minute studies. After that was CF camp in Broga. Was great, had a lot of fun and body aches. Was supposed to spend the rare two weeks holiday resting, but was given the opportunity to emcee for the orientation for the next semester. A rare experience, and it was great.

That was August.

September of ’08:
Short semester started. Felt so sluggish as it was quite a hectic schedule as well. Was hoping and praying hard to not FAIL the semester. Conspiracies still went on, but at least I was out of the picture. Made some people happy, some did not.

Was given another shock of my life when her parents asked me to join their dinner, in conjunction with the mum’s birthday. Was awkward at first, but who’s first meeting with the parents doesn’t?

Got to be emcee for Awards Day. Was a scary experience, but it taught me formal, well-presented ways of emcee-ing. First time working with a script for emcee. Plannings for UniFest began then.

That was September.

October of ’08:
Exams. Looking forward to the two month break, upon realizing that I will not have any other breaks from then on. Was pestered to work for November, with a heavy heart, I agreed, for her, for her…

Spent time resting and going places like Malacca, getting my long overdue diploma cert. Planning for UniFest was ongoing… meetings lined up. Was chosen to be the chairperson for next year’s CF Easter Rally.

That was October.

November of ’08:
Spent whole month working at Nielsen with her. Was fun, did not regret it a single bit. Meetings for both easter rally and UniFest piles up.

Officially started something beautiful on the 7th of November.

Was given the best birthday bash ever at Chilli’s by my darling. Will not forget it for the rest of my life. Officially turned 22.

Was asked by David to play for him for the Malaysian Revival Songwriting Competition (MRSC). Went through the heats stages, and was selected as 1 of the 9 finalists. Pretty psyched by it. Church conspiracies took a fall, and I found myself going back again. Not for long.

That was November

December of ’08:
More meetings for UniFest. More trips to uni on my holiday period. Played for the finals of MRSC. Did not win any physical award, though I personally felt like I won more than the winners on that night. Kinda realized the absence from the conspiracy-infested place did me good. Taught me well. And when I was just about to commit to the place again, a huge blockade came by. And it was a clear enough sign to steer clear from that place. This is the first time I ever made this public, so yeah it meant the world of hurt to me when I was blamed and framed. I had enough.

Went to Malacca again, and went to Kuching with Leslie ‘Chicken King’ on a working trip. Had a great Christmas at her church, followed by the whole day of hanging out together.

That was December… minus 2 days from it.

… yes so there you have it. The year 2008. Ups and downs and whatnots. To a better 2009 year?

2 Responses to “The One With The End Of Year 2008”

  1. April ’08: DEADline lar bukan dateline!!! hahahaahha….eh y no mention of the diva at all arh? nyahahaha

  2. Haha I like la, I don’t like ‘dead’ so I replaced it with ‘date’.

    Haha got mention, it’s under the mentioning of the CF group haha…

Leave a comment